This monument of history, architecture and monumental painting is the second largest temple in the capital, after St. Sophia Cathedral, that has survived since the time of Kyivan Rus. Founded by the Grand Prince of Kyiv Vsevolod Olhovych in 1133–1144, the monument is a unique example of a combination of a temple, a fortress, and the family tomb of the Olhovych princes.
The modern exterior of the St. Cyril’s Church is the result of several reconstructions of the 17th and 18th centuries, when the church acquired the features characteristic of the Ukrainian Baroque style. However, the interior has remained almost unchanged to date. The church’s greatest treasure is wall painting: frescoes of the twelfth century, a tempera portrait of the abbot of the seventeenth century, and oil paintings by artists of the nineteenth century, the most striking of which are those by Mikhail Vrubel.
Today, the church is part of the National Sanctuary Sophia of Kyiv. Since the 1990s, divine services have been resumed there. In 2011, the parish was turned into a men’s monastery.